left shadow right shadow

City Government

Founded in 1848 by Englishman James J. Dyer, Dyersville is a growing city of about 4,100 that combines small town friendliness with a highly productive work ethic and a progressive business community that make Dyersville, Iowa... a place where dreams come true.

The city of Dyersville is governed by a City Council which consists of five elected officials, two who are at-large representatives, and one each who represent three wards.

City Council members have fiscal authority, oversee public improvements, authorize city contracts, discuss and pass ordinances for the city. They regularly meet on the first and third Monday of each month at 7:00 pm, and can meet for special purposes.

Meet the Mayor
Jim Heavens
866 5th St SW

The City Council
Mark Breitbach – At-Large
923 2nd Street SW 
(563) 875-2349

Tom Westhoff – At Large

Jim Gibbs – Ward 1

Mike English – Ward 2 
210 1/2 1st Avenue E 
(563) 875-2862

Mike Oberbroeckling – Ward 3
2015 Castle Hill Drive SE